

HELP THE GLOBAL ECONOMY RECOVER WHILE BUILDING A HEALTHIER, MORE RESILIENT, NET-ZERO ECONOMY

As of May 5, 2020, there have been more than 250,000 COVID-19 related deaths globally and this deadly toll has not yet been stopped by emergency measures. It has also brought the world economy to a standstill, provoking an abrupt fall in GDP and in international trade. In this unprecedented crisis, the first priority is to protect populations and urgently reinforce health care systems. The abrupt economic downturn also called for immediate economic crisis response, leveraging monetary and fiscal stimulus to protect businesses, jobs and households from collapse. As countries start to emerge from emergency, efforts are progressively turning to economic recovery.

Today, we call on governments of the world to spend economic stimulus spending wisely and invest in the economy of the future. We come from global organisations across the energy, industry, finance and civil society sectors. Our companies and organisations have been impacted by the economic downturn. We are acutely aware of the imperative to support corporates shaken by the crisis and restart the global economy fast. We are also committed to learn the lessons from the COVID-19 crisis, which has dramatically demonstrated the unpreparedness of the global economy to systemic risks, despite early warnings from scientists.

Our companies – and many others around us – have the ambition, the technologies and the skills to build a healthier, more resilient, net-zero-emissions economy, that drives sustainable economic prosperity. The Energy Transitions Commission, of which we are members, has defined some key priorities to help the global economy recover while building this better economy. Governments have the choice, the power and the responsibility to build it faster with us.

LIST OF SIGNATORIES



SIGNATORIES



Mr. Marco Alvera

Chief Executive Officer - SNAM

Mr. Thomas Thune Anderson

Chairman of the Board - Ørsted

Lord Gregory Barker

Executive Chairman - EN+

Mr. Pierre-André de Chalendar

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer - Saint Gobain

Mr. Dominic Emery

Vice-President, Group Strategic Planning – BP

Mr. Stephen Fitzpatrick

Founder - Ovo Energy

Mr. William Gardiner

Chief Executive Officer - DRAX

Mr. John Holland-Kaye

Chief Executive Officer - Heathrow Airport

Mr. Chad Holliday

Chairman – Royal Dutch Shell

Mr. Timothy Jarratt

Group Head, Strategy - National Grid

Mr. Hubert Keller

Managing Partner – Lombard Odier

Ms. Zoe Knight

Managing Director and Group Head of the HSBC Centre of Sustainable Finance – HSBC

Mr. Jules Kortenhorst

Chief Executive Officer - Rocky Mountain Institute

Mr. Mark Laabs

Managing Director - Modern Energy

Mr. Richard Lancaster

Chief Executive Officer - CLP

Mr. Martin Lindqvist

Chief Executive Officer – SSAB

Mr. Auke Lont

Chief Executive Officer and President – Statnett

Dr. Ajay Mathur

Director General – The Energy and Resources Institute; Co-Chair – Energy Transitions Commission

Mr. Jon Moore

Chief Executive Officer - Bloomberg New Energy Finance

Mr. Julian Mylchreest

Managing Director, Global Co-Head of Natural Resources (Energy, Power & Mining) – Bank of America

Mr. Philip New

Chief Executive Officer – Catapult Energy Systems

Ms. Damilola Ogunbiyi

Chief Executive Officer - Sustainable Energy For All

Ms. Nandita Parshad

Managing Director, Sustainable Infrastructure Group – FBRD

Mr. Andreas Regnell

Senior Vice President Strategic Development – Vattenfall

Mr. Carlos Sallé

Senior Vice President of Energy Policies and Climate Change – Iberdrola

Mr. Mahendra Singhi

Chief Executive Officer - Dalmia Cement (Bharat) Limited

Dr. Andrew Steer

President and Chief Executive Officer - World Resources Institute

Lord Nicholas Stern

IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government -Grantham Institute - LSE

Dr. Günther Thallinger

Member of the Board of Management - Allianz

Mr. Simon Thompson

Chairman – Rio Tinto

Dr. Robert Trezona

Head of Cleantech - IP Group

Mr. Jean-Pascal Tricoire

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer – Schneider Electric

Ms. Laurence Tubiana

Chief Executive Officer - European Climate Foundation

Lord Adair Turner

Chair - Energy Transitions Commission

Mr. Eliot Whittington

Director, CLG - We Mean Business

Senator Timothy E. Wirth

Vice Chair – United Nations Foundation

Mr. Lei Zhang

Chief Executive Officer - Envision Group

Dr. Zhao Changwen

Director General Industrial Economy - Development Research Center of the State Council

Mr. Zheng Li

Executive Vice President – Institute of Climate Change and Sustainable Development, Tsinghua University

Ms. Cathy Zoi

President – EVgo